My Summer 2014

Wew! I can’t believe that two months would end like that so fast.

While other countries are counting down to the number of days before their summer officially starts, I, on the other hand, is counting the number of days left in my calendar before I return to the university.

Very far from the summer experience that I had last year, I did not went out for an adventure this year because of some circumstances. Instead, I tried to make my summer by spending a lot of time inside the house and trying to make the best out of it.

Initially, I planned my summer as the peak of my vlogging days in Youtube just like before but eventually it did not turned out like that. So I decided to shift my attention on other things which includes a talent that I haven’t discovered before  and other amazing stuff.  I also assumed that this is maybe life’s way of telling me that I should rest for a while from film making after spending so many months shooting and editing.

The highlight of my summer this year is, of course, my 18th birthday. Kudos to this special event in my life I am capable to doing more and legal things that I wasn’t allowed to do in the passed 17 years of my life such as registering to become an official voter and getting my first cedula or community tax certificate.

2014-05-06_1399375419
A photo of a piece of cake from my birthday.
2014-05-27_1401196419
My first cedula.

Furthermore, it was also an achievement for me this summer to finish 7 novels which includes the works of Kasie West, Huntley Fitzpatrick, Leila Sales, John Green, Jodi Picoult and Stephen Chbosky. You can all read my reviews for these books by these authors in my Goodreads account.

Andrea’s bookshelf: read

3 of 5 stars
I’ll give this book a rate of 3.5 stars out of 5.One of the reasons why I decided to read this book is its unique concept where the main character falls in love with the reader. Well, yeah, the book was able to fulfill one facet of my …
3 of 5 stars
According to the title itself, yes, this book is full of Katherines that will make you get tired of reading her name as you read the chapters of the book and will change your perspective about the name after finishing this novel. She’s a…
5 of 5 stars
I LOVE IT! I wouldn’t have said that, on the other hand, if I didn’t though. I find the concept so fresh and distinct from other Young Adult books that I recently read. It did not centered on summer romances or dramatic romances of teen…

goodreads.com

Another thing that I am proud of for this summer is my hidden talent for making a portrait. This talent of mine was very hidden that I did not realize that I possess such kind until I tried to sketch the face of my blockmate as a gift to her for her 18th birthday. I really thought that throughout all these years I was just a “trying hard” for this talent until I realized that I was good at it.  After that, I started to love making portraits and it eventually became a hobby for me during the entire summer.

10247266_821085724587284_1682213084_n
My blockmate and the portrait I made for her.
The other portraits that I made throughout the entire summer.
The other portraits that I made throughout the entire summer.

If I decided to take a break from film making for a while this summer, well, that did not stop me from watching videos and films that I think will inspire me in the future. I think I spent 75% of my summer doing this and I don’t regret it. Plus, I learned more things about film making because of this.

Recently, I finished watching The Three Flavors Cornetto Trilogy starring Simon Pegg and Nick Frost which were all directed by Edgar Wright. I was influenced to watch these movies because of Wright’s excellence in using film making as a tool for expressing good visual comedy.

More than a week ago, I re-watched Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower as well as Marc Webb’s (500) Days of Summer. I’ve also seen for the first time Stuck in Love which was directed by Fault in Our Stars director, Josh Boone and another film, written by my favorite Hollywood duo-screenwriters, Scott Neustadter and Michael Weber, The Spectacular Now.

Regarding about the short films that I’ve watched throughout the entire summer, one of my favorites is this animation video entitled Bless You. I find the whole video really amazing and wonderfully crafted.

Apparently, if you have been seeing in your reader these days (for my followers), I also busied myself with graphic designing. I designed shirts, album covers and even my header for this blog. I, then, uploaded these designs to 99designs. com where I entered contests in the hope of being chosen by the holder of it. Unluckily, none of my designs were chosen which seems to mean that I need to practice my graphic designing skills more. You can check out  and find my designs here in this blog  in my recent posts.

So that’s how my summer 2014 turned out. Frankly, I really wasn’t expecting any of it at all except for the fact that I’ll be reading a lot of novels within this period. I’m glad that I was able to have this kind of experience though I wasn’t able to go out for an adventure because I learned a lot not just only about my passions but as well as within myself.

I wonder how will my summer 2015 will turn out like.

Any thoughts?

